Houston Criminal Law Blog

EXPERIENCED. AGGRESSIVE. HOUSTON CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAW FIRM: The Law Office of Matthew D. Sharp

You Could Get 99 Years Behind Bars For Possessing Meth!

Methamphetamine is a synthetic drug that was originally concocted way back in the 19th century, but the devastating influence of its menacing grip on illicit drug users has never been greater. When a drug user is convicted on a crystal meth charge in the state of Texas, the criminal penalties can be quite severe. The prohibition against the manufacture, possession or distribution of methamphetamine is strictly enforced.

Crystal Meth Addiction

Crystal methamphetamine, also known as crank, speed or ice, is a powerful street drug that has the power to artificially stimulate the central nervous system by mimicking the release of dopamine, a hormone naturally produced in the human brain. The potent substance represents an affordable alternative to cocaine. Meth is highly addictive and has a reputation for devastating families and communities.

The pleasurable rush created by smoking, injecting, snorting or ingesting crystal amphetamine creates a rush that can last as long as 12 hours, but the inevitable crash is equally powerful. Meth addicts are subject to cycles of euphoric rushes and immobilizing crashes. This debilitating way of life can go on for days at a time, destroying the user’s physical health and mental stability.

Methamphetamine Penalties

The manufacture, possession or distribution of any amount of meth in the state of Texas will result in a felony charge. Even the possession of meth related equipment or paraphernalia is prohibited. The punishments available for methamphetamine crimes are described in Penalty Group 1 of the Texas Controlled Substances ACT:

Methamphetamine possession

  • Less than one gram: state jail felony-180 days to 2 years in jail and a fine of no more than $10,000
  • One-less than four grams: third-degree felony-two to ten years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000
  • Four-less than 200 grams: second degree felony-two to 20 years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000
  • 200-less than 400 grams: first-degree felony-five to 99 years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000
  • More than 400 grams: hnhanced first-degree felony-ten to 99 years in prison and a fine of no more than $100,000

Manufacturing, distributing or intent to deliver methamphetamine

  • Less than one gram: state jail felony-180 days to two years in state jail and a fine of no more than $10,000
  • One-less than four grams: second-degree felony-two to 20 years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000
  • Four-less than 200 grams: first-degree felony-five to 99 years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000
  • 200-less than 400 grams: enhanced first-degree felony-10 to 99 years in prison and a fine of no more than $100,000
  • More than 400 grams: enhanced first-degree felony-15 to 99 years in prison and a fine of no more than $250,000

If you have been accused of possessing, manufacturing or distributing meth, then get a hold of The Law Office of Matthew D. Sharp today. They can be reached by phone at 713-868-6100.

Comments (no responses)

Comments are closed.